PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE MINUTES OF MEETING OF THURSDAY, 29 JUNE 2023

The Committee met in Public Session at 09:33 a.m., a quorum being present.

The following Members were present:

Deputies:Brian Stanley (Cathaoirleach), John Brady, Colm Burke, Cormac Devlin,
Alan Dillon, Alan Kelly, Paul McAuliffe, Imelda Munster, Catherine Murphy, Verona
Murphy, Marc Ó Cathasaigh, James O'Connor.

Permanent

Witness: Mr. Seamus McCarthy, Comptroller and Auditor General.

1. Witnesses Examined:

Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board

- Mr. Darragh O'Loughlin, Chief Executive Officer
- Mr. Niall Cronin, Head of Communications and Strategy

Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine

- Mr. Gordon Conroy, Assistant Secretary General
- Ms Caroline Ball, Principal Officer
- Mr. Eoin Ryan, Senior Superintending Veterinary Inspector
- Ms Louise McAlavey, Assistant Principal Officer

Horse Racing Ireland

- Ms Suzanne Eade, Chief Executive
- Mr. Jonathan Mullin, Director of Communications and Corporate Affairs
- Mr. Jason Morris, Director of Racing and Strategic Projects

Matters for discussion:

- Financial Statements 2021
 - o Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board

2. Correspondence

| Correspondence received | |
|---|----------|
| A – Briefing Documents and Opening Statements | Decision |

| Correspondence received | | |
|-------------------------|---|-------------------|
| R1961 PAC33 | Correspondence received from Mr. Darragh O'Loughlin, Chief Executive Officer, Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board, dated 23/06/2023 | Note and publish |
| R1978 PAC33 | Correspondence received from Mr. Darragh O'Loughlin, Chief Executive Officer, Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board, dated 28/06/2023 | Note and publish. |

It was agreed that the Clerk would request any follow-up information and carry out any agreed actions arising from the meeting. It was also agreed to note and publish the opening statements and briefing documents provided to the Committee for the meeting.

Deputy Catherine Murphy took the Chair at 10.44.

The Committee suspended at 11:20.

The Committee resumed in **Private** Session at 13:18.

Deputy Brian Stanley resumed the Chair at 13.18.

The Committee went into **Public** Session at 13:30.

3. Witnesses Examined:

RTÉ

- Mr. Adrian Lynch, Interim Deputy Director General
- Ms Anne O'Leary, Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee
- Ms Geraldine O'Leary, Director of Commercial
- Ms Moya Doherty, Former Chairperson of the Board
- Dr. P.J. Mathews, Board Member
- Ms Paula Mullooly, Director of Legal Affairs
- Mr. Richard Collins, Chief Financial Officer
- Mr. Robert Shortt, Member of the Audit and Risk Committee and RTÉ staff representative on the Board
- Mr. Rory Coveney, Director of Strategy
- Ms Siún Ní Raghallaigh, Chairperson of the Board
- Mr. Willie O'Reilly, Former Director of Commercial

Matters for discussion:

- Matters relating to the appropriation of public monies to RTÉ and the expenditure, by RTÉ, of such monies.
- Commercial arrangements entered into by RTÉ and its presenters, including those underwritten by RTÉ, which have impacted on and relate to the expenditure of public monies.

4. Correspondence

| Correspondence received | | |
|-------------------------|---|-------------------|
| A – Briefing Do | ocuments and Opening Statements | Decision |
| R1979 PAC33 | Correspondence received from Ms Katherine Licken, Secretary General, Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media, dated 29/06/2023 | Note and publish. |
| R1980 PAC33 | Correspondence received from Ms Siún Ní Raghallaigh, Chairperson of the Board, RTÉ, dated 29/06/2023 | Note and publish. |
| R1981 PAC33 | Correspondence received from Mr. Adrian Lynch, Deputy Director General, RTÉ, dated 29/06/2023 | Note and publish. |

It was agreed that the Clerk would request any follow-up information and carry out any agreed actions arising from the meeting. It was also agreed to note and publish the opening statements and briefing documents provided to the Committee for the meeting.

The Committee **suspended** at 15:04.

The Committee **resumed** in public session at 15:12.

The Committee **adjourned** at 17:29 until Thursday 6 July 2023.

Brian Stantes

Brian Stanley, T.D.

Cathaoirleach 6 July 2023