The Committee met in **Public Session** at 09.04 a.m. in Committee Room 3, LH 2000, a quorum being present.

The following members were present:-

Deputies: Sean Fleming; Bobby Aylward; Peter Burke; Shane Cassells; Catherine Connolly; David Cullinane; Alan Farrell; Marc MacSharry; Catherine Murphy; Jonathan O'Brien; and Kate O'Connell.

Apologies from Deputy Pat Deering.

Also present:

Seamus McCarthy – Comptroller and Auditor General Deirdre Quaid – Deputy Director of Audit

1. Minutes of the Meetings of:

14 February 2019

21 February 2019

Agreed and agreed to publish.

2. Matters Arising

No matters arising.

3. Correspondence received			
A - Briefing docume	Decision		
32R002010-PAC	Correspondence received from Maurice Coughlan, Principal, Departmental Finance/Accounts, Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, dated 22/02/2019	Note and Publish.	
32R002015-PAC	Correspondence received from John McCarthy, Secretary General, Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, dated 26/02/2019	Note and Publish.	
B - Correspondence up to PAC meetings	Decision		
32R001998-PAC	Correspondence received from Ms. Rhonda Evans, National Paediatric Hospital Development Board, dated 18/02/2019	Noted. Committee to suggest to NPHDB that they would publish these minutes in the interest of transparency.	
32R001999-PAC	Correspondence received from Paul O'Toole, Chief Executive Officer, The Higher Education Authority, dated 22/02/2019	Note and Publish.	

3. Correspond	dence received	
32R002000-PAC	Correspondence received from Elaine Sheridan, Vice President, Waterford Institute of Technology, dated 20/02/2019	Noted. Do not publish. Write to Department and HEA and forward correspondence 32R002000-PAC for an updated on stalled report. Requested from WIT a copy of memo and related communications.
32R002002-PAC	Correspondence received from Professor Willie Donnelly, President, Waterford Institute of Technology, dated 13/02/2019	Noted. Do not publish.
32R002003-PAC	Correspondence received from Rhonda Evans, National Paediatric Hospital Development Board, dated 15/02/2019	Note and Publish.
32R002007-PAC	Correspondence received from Rhonda Evans, National Paediatric Hospital Development Board, dated 20/02/2019	Note and Publish.
32R002011-PAC	Correspondence received from Carmel Whelan, KWETB, dated 21/02/2019	Note and Publish. Write to KWETB to ensure necessary permissions obtained before publishing the enclosed document.
32R002012-PAC	Correspondence received from Paul Quinn, Chief Procurement Officer, Office of Government Procurement, dated 25/02/2019	Note and Publish. Request a copy of the Capital Works Management Framework; National Paediatric Hospital timeline, minutes for the meeting of the Government Contracts Committee for Construction related to derogation.
32R002014-PAC	Correspondence received from John McCarthy, Secretary General, Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, dated 26/02/2019	Note and Publish.
32R002017-PAC	Correspondence received from Maurice Coughlan, Principal, Departmental Finance/Accounts, Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, dated 27/02/2018	Note and Publish.

3. Correspondence received			
C - Correspondence correspondence	Decision		
32R001998-PAC	Correspondence received from David Cullinane, T.D., Houses of the Oireachtas, dated 18/02/2019	Noted. Secretariat to check the previous correspondence received in relation to this and revert to the Committee by next week.	
32R002001-PAC	Correspondence received from Alan Kelly, T.D., Houses of the Oireachtas, dated 13/02/2019	Noted.	
32R002004-PAC	Correspondence received from Jonathan O'Brien, T.D., Houses of the Oireachtas, dated 18/02/2019	Noted.	
32R002008-PAC	Correspondence received from Alan Kelly, T.D., Houses of the Oireachtas, dated 21/02/2019	Noted.	
32R002009-PAC	Correspondence received from Kate O'Connell, T.D., Houses of the Oireachtas, dated 21/02/2019	Noted.	

4. Work Programme

Work programme agreed.

5. Any other business

The Committee suspended at 09.59 a.m. to allow witnesses to take their seats.

The Committee went into in **public session** at 10.07 a.m.

6. Witnesses Examined

Office of the Comptroller and Auditor General

- Seamus McCarthy, Comptroller and Auditor General
- Deirdre Quaid, Deputy Director of Audits

Morning Session

Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government

- John McCarthy, Secretary General
- Marguerite Ryan, Principal Officer
- Mary Hurley, Assistant Secretary General
- Nina Murray, Principal Officer

Department of Public Expenditure and Reform

- Clare Costello, Central Vote section
- Margot Dunne, Central Vote section

County and City Management Association (Chief Executives of Local Authorities)

- Jackie Maguire, Chairperson, CCMA Chief Executive, Meath County Council
- Conn Murray, Chair of CCMA Housing Sub-Committee Chief Executive of Limerick City and County Council

Matters for discussion

- Appropriation Accounts 2017 (resumed) Vote 34: Housing, Planning and Local Government
- Housing Matters

The Committee suspended at 12.32 p.m.

The Committee resumed at 12.41 p.m.

The Committee suspended at 13.53 p.m.

The Committee resumed at 15.10 p.m.

Afternoon Session

Office of the Comptroller and Auditor General

- Seamus McCarthy, Comptroller and Auditor General
- John Creen, Deputy Director of Audits

Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government

- John McCarthy, Secretary General
- Patrick O'Sullivan Principal
- Maria Graham Assistant Secretary General
- Rory O'Leary Assistant Principal

Department of Public Expenditure and Reform

- Clare Costello, Central Vote section
- Margot Dunne, Central Vote section

County and City Management Association (Chief Executives of Local Authorities)

- Jackie Maguire, Chairperson, CCMA Chief Executive, Meath County Council
- Conn Murray, Chair of CCMA Housing Sub-Committee Chief Executive of Limerick City and County Council

Matters for discussion

- Local Government Fund
- C&AG Report 2017 Chapter 4; Central Government Funding of Local Authorities

It was agreed for to request the Clerk to seek any agreed follow-up information and carry out any agreed actions arising from the meeting.

The Committee suspended at 15.45 p.m.

The Committee resumed at 16.01 p.m.

7. Adjournment

The Committee adjourned at 17.22 p.m. until 07 March 2019.

Sean Fleming, T.D Chairman 07 March 2019