

## BILLE NA gCOMHPHOBAL EORPACH (LEASÚ) 2003 EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES (AMENDMENT) BILL 2003

## **EXPLANATORY AND FINANCIAL MEMORANDUM**

Purpose of Bill

The European Communities (Amendment) Bill 2003 is necessary to amend the European Communities Act 1972, in order to provide that certain parts of the Treaty concerning the accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic to the European Union shall form part of the domestic law of the State once Ireland ratifies the Treaty.

Text of Bill

The Bill provides for—

- (a) insertion in section 1(1) of the European Communities Act 1972, of a new paragraph (u) including the Treaty concerning the accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic to the European Union, in so far as that Treaty refers to the European Communities;
- (b) the amendment of the table to section (1) of the 1972
  Act defining "the Treaties governing the European
  Communities" to include reference to the Treaty
  concerning the accession of the Czech Republic, the
  Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the
  Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the
  Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the
  Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the
  Slovak Republic to the European Union

## Content of Bill

The content of the Bill is in line with earlier amendments of the European Communities Act 1972, through which provisions of previous EU Treaties have been given domestic legal effect.

Section 1(1) of the Bill adds a new paragraph (u) to section 1(1) of the European Communities Act 1972, providing that the provisions of the Treaty concerning the accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the

Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic to the European Union done at Athens on the 16th day of April 2003, in so far as that Treaty relates to the European Communities

Section 1(2) makes consequential amendment to the Table, to section 1 of the European Communities Act 1972, which lists those reaties defined as "the treaties governing the European Communities", to include reference to the Treaty concerning the accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic to the European Union done at Athens on the 16th day of April 2003.

## **Financial implications**

The Bill involves no costs or staffing implications for the Exchequer.

An Roinn Gnóthaí Eachtracha, Deireadh Fómhair, 2003.